#StillBreathing, the campaign

Hello Booknerds,

Since this is one of my first blog posts in English, I’m going to tell you a bit about me. I was a rebellious teenager, to say the least. As a matter of fact, I wasn’t a very happy go lucky kid. I used to be, when I was younger, but once I turned ten, I started to see things differently. The term ‘old soul’ doesn’t really fit me, because even at the age of 25 I’m going to have my birthday party at Disneyland Paris! And I’m counting the days until I can hug Mickey Mouse like you wouldn’t believe. But I just didn’t fit in. I asked myself too many questions. I expected too much from the other kids. I thought about the future a lot, and I voiced a lot of concerns that my classmates didn’t care about. It made me an outsider. In easy terms: I grew up too fast.

On top of that, I grew up in the 90’s and nillies, and pop-music was booming like never before. I can’t know for sure what it was like in other countries, but I can honestly say I never heard a single rock song on the radio back then. When all you ever hear is the Spice Girls and Britney Spears, singing about chasing boys and partying and having tons of friends, and you can’t relate to that, you start feeling lonely. Up until the age of 12 I don’t think I ever related to a song. Of course I kinda liked music, I took streetdance classes and I enjoyed moving to the beat, but I didn’t love it. It didn’t even know it was possible to love music the way I do now. And oh god, how I love it now! I still remember the very moment it all changed: I was twelve, sitting at my computer, browsing some weird old-school steaming website, looking for something called a ‚basket case’, because a girl I just met (who later became my best friend) told me to stop sulking and find this ‚Green Day’ song she liked. She believed it was going to solve my problem, that this band I’d never heard of was going to make me love music. Guess what? It did. From the moment that song started playing (Doooo you have the time to listen to me whine?), I knew my views on music, my problems, and – eventually – the world, were going to change dramatically.

Green Day was my gateway to punk rock, but also to understanding that I had a place in this world. I’d never heard music so angry and emotional, so frank, so tongue-in-cheek, so… truthful! Or at least it was my truth, and it hit home. Whenever I felt down, or depressed, or like I didn’t want to go on anymore, I just turned up the volume of my iPod and found my comfort in knowing I was not, and never would be, alone again. So I suppose you could say Green Day is the reason I’m #stillbreathing today.

And that’s why I just love the campaign they put up, yesterday.

When Still Breathing came out as a new single, I fell in love with it immediately. After the album series that wasn’t all that, a song this amazing was all it took to make everyone spring back to attention.

I like how euphoric it is, even when it deals with such a difficult topic. It perfectly describes the relief of having made it, that feeling of coming up for air when you were sure you were going to drown.

A lot of people could relate, and now Billie Joe Armstrong wants to know just how much ‘Still Breathing’ means to them. The campaign goes as follows: You’re supposed to take a picture using the hashtag #stillbreathing and post it on Instagram, with the flag of your country in the description.

Wanna know more? Check out Green Day’s website! I certainly posted a pic!

 

Screenshot_20170322-113207.png

 

Lots of love,

The Booknerd

Leave a Reply

